Friends of Foundation Academies

Who We Are

The Friends of Foundation Academies, Inc. is a separate 501c3 nonprofit organization founded in 2010 to encourage community support of Foundation Academies. We support Foundation Academies by raising funds and delivering services, programs, acquisitions, and partnerships that equitably serve the best interests of our school community. 

You can make a lasting impact on Foundation Academies by making a charitable gift through the Friends.

What We Do

As a public charter school, Foundation Academies receives only approximately 70% of the per-student dollar allocation that the district schools receive. Donations to the Friends Annual Fund help to bridge that gap by enriching our student experiences, developing and retaining faculty, and responding to the needs of our school community. 

Gifts to the Friends Knight Fund underwrite scholarships, awards, book stipends, and emergency support to help our alumni succeed in college and in careers. With your help, the Friends aims to award more than $400,000 in tuition assistance and persistence to our alumni by 2025.  

Friends of Foundation Academies Annual Report 2022-23

Annual Report 2021-22

Annual Report 2020-21

Annual Report 2019-20

2023-24 Friends of Foundation Academies
Board of Directors

The Friends of Foundation Academies is led by a Board of Directors whose role is to ensure thoughtful investment, planning, stewardship and accountability to donors and the community. The Friends Board collaborates with the leadership of Foundation Academies to identify the most pressing needs of the school community and then solicits, accepts, and approves charitable donations.

Don Hofmann, Chair

Howie Powers, Vice Chair

Reid McCarthy, Treasurer

Anthony Klockenbrink, Secretary

Dr. Fitzroy Dawkins


Dwight Green

Jørgen Bundgaard Hansen

Joanna Herrera

Betsy Rendall

Sheria McRae*


*Designates ex officio member

2023-24 Friends of Foundation Academies
Leadership Council

The Friends of Foundation Academies Leadership Council involves our broader community in the important work of the schools. The Council meets quarterly to receive updates on our schools, collaborate on advancement initiatives, and champion our innovative work in K-12 public education. 

Karen Andrade-Mims

Rich Balka

Jon Bodnar

Ashwin Chaudhari

Melanie Clarke

Krystal Cohen

Paul Disdier

Mark Eveland

Suzanne Eveland

Amitava Haldar

Sally Henriques

Kent Hogshire

Sharon Ann Holt

John Jackson

Bob Kiep

Peggy Oliver Krist

Chenoah Porter Blount

Zachyra Rodriguez

Sarah Ringer

Miles Smith

Sandra Touissant

Melissa von Stade

Deborah Wall

Dennis Walsingham

Alexander Zbinden

Frequently Asked Questions

Advisory Grievance Committee

The bylaws of Foundation Academy state the following: In accordance with New Jersey law (N.J.S.A.18A:36A-15), the Board of Trustees shall establish an Advisory Grievance Committee comprised of both parents and teachers to make non-binding recommendations to the Board of Trustees concerning the disposition of complaints.

The Advisory Grievance Committee shall have four members who will serve one year terms, with one member designated as chairperson by the other committee members. Committee members shall be appointed each year at the first Board of Trustees meeting following the annual meeting or as soon thereafter as practicable. Advisory Grievance Committee members may serve no more than two consecutive terms on the committee.